End of Winter Celebration

I jumped on the Owls sweater bandwagon and hope to finish it before the weather turns too warm. I probably would have been done already if I knitted size 42 from the start, instead of believing size 40 would fit. After frogging and reknitting the body I think this is going to be a close-to-perfect fit. The design incorporates Elizabeth Zimmerman’s hourglass waist decreases/increases for shaping. I’ve been looking for a fun yoke sweater to knit and I’m looking forward to the finished results. Yarn: Louet Riverstone Chunky in Sandalwood. It’s a pleasing earthy tone in a nice easy-to knit-with weight.  It’s been something like 2 years since I knit a sweater so I’m enjoying this a lot.Here’s a shot of the yarn:

On the sock front, I’m just about finished with my Evolution Ribbed Socks using Jitterbug yarn in “Sahara.”  It’s a wild colorway with a lot of contrast. And you know how comfy Jitterbug yarn is. Of course the second sock is not pictured due to the fact I started Owls before grafting the toe. You know how that goes!

It’s been a long, freakin’ cold winter and I’m ready for spring, here’s the next sock yarn in the wings:

I’ve never knit with Madelinetosh Sock yarn before, and this looks like a real treat. The colorway “Jade” is perfect for the upcoming season. Most likely I will knit a lace leaf pattern, but anything can change ;o)

One Response

  1. Love those tiger-y stripe socks! After this warm weekend, I’m giddily ready to abandon wool projects in favor of cotton and linen, but this week may bring a return to sobriety!

Leave a Reply

